Ruling “Cat’s Gathering” Ability + Celebi SLG

Discussion in 'PTCG Competitive Play' started by FourteenAlmonds, Apr 15, 2019.

  1. FourteenAlmonds Roasted, but not salty
    FourteenAlmonds

    Member

    How does the “Cat’s Gathering” ability from Persian in Unbroken Bonds interact with Celebi from Shining Legends?

    Persian’s ability states:
    “Each of your Pokemon in play with a Cat Day attack pay no Energy to use their attacks.”

    Does this include Pokémon that can use the Cat Day attack from a previous evolution?

    My suspicion is no, since I haven’t heard of any Cat Day decks coming out of Japan, but I’d really like clarification on this.

    Cheers!
     


  2. Vom Katarina? Katarina.
    Vom

    Forum Mod Member

    I would say no because the Pokémon themselves do not have the attack printed on them, Celebi's wording says 'attacks of its previous Evolutions' implying it's not the Evolved Pokémon's attack.
     
    Otaku and FourteenAlmonds like this.
  3. snoopy369 Aspiring Trainer
    snoopy369

    Advanced Member Member

    No, I don't think you wouldn't be able to count this (or if you used Memory Energy, either). But, this is an unreleased card, so it's possible the wording will be slightly different and/or they will announce a specific ruling regarding this scenario.

    See this ruling for a similar scenario from the Compendium:

    (Time Recall: "Each of your evolved Pokémon can use any attack from its previous Evolutions. (You still need the necessary Energy to use each attack.)")

    (Amnesia: "Choose 1 of your opponent's Active Pokémon's attacks. That Pokémon can't use that attack during your opponent's next turn.")
     
    Otaku and FourteenAlmonds like this.
  4. FourteenAlmonds Roasted, but not salty
    FourteenAlmonds

    Member

    That scenario with the Golduck actually seems really applicable here — thanks!
     
    Otaku likes this.
  5. Nyora And she was lol
    Nyora

    Member

    What Vom said actually applies to a number of situations. No, Icncineroar, Purugly, etc. cannot use their attack’s for free, because they do not have they attack, they may only use it. This is the same situation with night march. If Marshadow-GX would be in the discard pile (since it doesn’t specify if it’s ability isn’t active in the discard pile), it can still use a Night March, and of course only if it is active. But it doesn’t mean it has Night March. Otherwise the damage for that attack would go up by 20 for each Marshadow-GX in the discard pile. Same works with the Round attack. Marshadow GX can use Round, but it doesnt have it. Similar scenario with Dimension Valley. Only Psychic Pokémon get the reduced by [C] Energy cost. So again, if you are Marshadow GX, a [F] type, this doesn’t apply.
     
    FourteenAlmonds, Vom and snoopy369 like this.

Viewing Now: 0 Members + 0 Guests

There are no registered members viewing this forum. Why not register here and start a discussion?

Moderated By

Brave Vesperia, Tapu Lele

Share This Page