Ruling Unown G

N

ninjabryan

An unown G states "Once during your turn (before your attack), if Unown G is on your Bench, you may discard all cards attached to Unown G and attach Unown G as a Pokémon Tool card. As long as Unown G is attached to a Pokémon, prevent all effects of attacks, excluding damage, done to that Pokémon." What does the the card exactly prevent and what does the "excluding damage" include?

For Instance:
If my Cacturne attempted Pin Missile (states "flip3 coins. this attack does 20 damage times the number of heads") on a pokemon with an attached unown G and hypothetically gets flips 2 heads out of 3 does the defending pokemon take the 60 DAMAGE?

With a Houndoom, if i did Black Fire (states "You may discard a fire or dark energy attached to houndoom....if you discard a dark energy, this attack does 40 damage plus 30 more damage"), does the attack do only 40 damage because of the unown G attached to the defending pokemon or does it do the full 40 damage plus the 30 damage?

With Arceus, if i did Prize count (states "if you have more prize cards left than your opponent, this attack does 20 damage plus 60 more damage") does it do the full 20 damage plus 60 more damage or does it only do 20 damage to the defending pokemon with the attached unown G.

These attacks are considered as calculating damage, correct?? or are they considered "effects?"
 
Those are all calculated damage and therefore those effects are not stopped by Unown G. Cacturne would do 40 damage. Houndoom would do 70 damage. Arceus would do 80 damage.
 
Unown G basically stops any part of an attack that is not damage-based.

"This attack does 20 plus 60 damage". That's still damage. It is still applied.
"Put 3 damage counters on 1 of your opponent's Pokemon." That is not damage. It is blocked.
"The Defending Pokemon is now Burned." That too is not damage. It is blocked.
 
Also, to clarify - Unown G only protects you from effects of your opponent's attacks. That means any effect on your Pokémon that is applied as the result of attacks by your own Pokémon is not blocked by Unown G. Also, Unown G does not block any effects of Poké-POWERS, Poké-BODIES, trainers, etc. It only protects from attacks.
 
Back
Top