Ruling Several Questions

Alan

No Items. Not Ever.
Member
Here are a few questions I have. some from newer cards, some older.

1. If Jirachi Uses Make a Wish and I don't find an Evolution for 1 of my Pokemon, do I still put a damage counter on it? Also, If I already evolved the Pokemon this turn, can I evolve it with Make a Wish?

2. Is A Lv. X Pokemon considered an evolution card, and if not, is it still counted as a Basic Pokemon once Leveled Up?

3. What is the rule about Foreign basic energy? Are they banned as well as regular foreign cards?

Thanks if you can answer any of them :).
 
1) This functions just like Spiritomb from Platinum Arceus used to. If you find an evolution, you take a damage. If not, you don't take damage. Yes, you may evolve a Pokémon you just played that turn. Attacks can break the normal rules of evolution.

2) Once leveled up, a Lv. X is considered the same thing as the Pokémon below it. (hence only being able to use 2 uxie and 2 Lv. x, not 4 of each.) so it is a basic Pokémon. (also why Machamp's Take Out attack could still work against Leveled-up SP Pokémon.) Props to DNA for this answer.

3) all foreign cards, including basic energy, are banned.
 
2. Is A Lv. X Pokemon considered an evolution card, and if not, is it still counted as a Basic Pokemon once Leveled Up?

Note that while in the deck it is not treated as a basic or an evolution card. You'd need to play a card that can get any Pokemon or specifically states Pokemon LV.X to be able to choose it from the deck. Bebe's Search is one such card.
~KA
 
Back
Top