Ruling Japanese Energy Cards, Preventing Status Condition Removals, and Junk Arm

Emperor_Gaius

Formerly mlouden03
Member
Japanene Energy Cards
Is it legal to use Japanese energies in POP sanctioned tournaments..if the Energy says Energy in English and the only way to tell it's Japanese is that it's from a Japanese exclusive set (Japanese VS set)?

Card Preventing status removal by Evolution/Devolution/Leveling Up/Leveling Down
Is there a card that prevents removing status conditions when level-ing up or evolving? I think/know a Gliscor did it/does it, but I'm 99% sure someone used something Else against me a few weeks ago at leauge with the similar/same effect..is there anything like that besides the gliscor..or am I remembering it wrong?

Junk Arm
If I play Junk Arm http://pokebeach.com/scans/triumphant/87-junk-arm.jpg does it mean only That same junk arm, or Any card named Junk Arm in my discard pile?

Edit:

@Dragon expert-my local tournament organizer said the same as you at the pre-release but was unsure..I'm hoping they rule along with BoDragon's interpretation of the wording..honestly I just wish they made it clearer such as, "You may not choose Any cards named junk arm" etc
 
RE: Japanese Energy Cards, Preventing Evolutions/Devolutions/Level Ups/Level Downs, and Junk Arm

Effective this year, you can only use local area language cards in your deck and no foreign language cards.

Gliscor (PR, #DP36)
dp36-gliscor.jpg


You cannot choose the Junk Arm you are playing, but you could choose others in your discard pile played before.
 
Actually I believe you can't take any Junk Arm with another Junk Arm.~Mark
 
@Banuffin: As well as Toxicroak MT (Poisoned special condition only) in Unlimited format.

Dragonexpert is correct; you cannot choose any card named Junk Arm by Junk Arm's effect. (Trainer cards are only discarded after their effects are fully carried out, therefore the Junk Arm you're using isn't in your discard yet.)
 
If you cannot choose any other Junk Arms in your discard pile, the text of the card is not perfectly clear, or it is something to be errated. The text of the card references to itself.
 
Considering Trainer cards are only discarded after the effects are fully carried out, it is impossible for a Junk Arm to ever target itself. Also, any Tr/Su/St card that targets itself will say 'this card'. Examples are Volkner's Philosophy and Steven's Advice.
Also, considering the Japanese text says this:
Discard 2 cards from your hand, then show 1 Goods card from your discard pile to your opponent, and put it in your hand.
You can’t choose any Junk Arm card from your discard pile with this card’s effect.

You also can't use a Good Rod to target itself if you flip tails, as it isn't in the discard pile.

so yeah
 
Back
Top