Is the Pokemon TCG Dead?

Where are you at? You may have multiple leagues in one area dividing the population of players, or you could be in a dead zone.

As strange as it seems, I find that the more you play the TCG, the more you'll realize that the fanbase is FAR from dead. When I started playing, the only person I knew that played the TCG was a friend from my library that used to collect during the DP era. As time has gone on, I've found a lot more people that play the TCG. Just earlier this month, I was checking out at Walgreens, purchasing PHF Booster Packs on their BOGO deal, and a teenager behind me in line asked me if I had seen any of the scans of Gaia Volcano and Tidal Storm.

GadgetJax said:
As strange as it seems, I find that the more you play the TCG, the more you'll realize that the fanbase is FAR from dead. When I started playing, the only person I knew that played the TCG was a friend from my library that used to collect during the DP era. As time has gone on, I've found a lot more people that play the TCG. Just earlier this month, I was checking out at Walgreens, purchasing PHF Booster Packs on their BOGO deal, and a teenager behind me in line asked me if I had seen any of the scans of Gaia Volcano and Tidal Storm.

Agreed with this. It certainly died in my age group at school, like only me and my friend played it in the whole school, and not even competitively, although a few of my church friends do, I found out recently. I did ask about the cards at EB Games (probably like Gamestop), and they said they're not getting enough buyers so they've taken them out. Then I found a weekly tourny with a decent amount of people for the half-city I'm in.

In America the game actually appears to be growing. With increased prize support and the required CP to make worlds lowered a lot of old players are coming back to the game.