How to beat the top dogs?

Zid

Aspiring Trainer
Howdy all,

So I'm new to the game and looking to play more competitively. Having a super limited card selection like I do, I've decided to play online to feel out things while getting started... but I'm finding certain decks super difficult. I build a blastoise deck, but with only 1 keldeo. The decks that have taken me to town are the following:

- Lugia EX with Deoxys EX's and that stadium that damages you when you play energy (hard counter to my poor toise :( )
- Accelgor/Trevenant
- Hydregon/Yveltal EX
- Trubbish tool deck

I was wondering what are good tactics for a newer player to learn when dealing with these decks? Poor draws aside, these decks are brutal for a new guy to face and not sure what to do when I see one across from me... :)

Matchups are matchups, and have to be thought about carefully, and individually.

You should begin by thinking about the advantage that the opposing archetype has over your deck, then think of the most convenient and generally useful ways to counter that strategy.

For example, you can generally get around accelgor's paralysis and poison by using Keldeo EX's Rush-In ability when it's on the bench. You should also keep in mind the effect of evolution to remove status ailments. Because of Keldeo's power in this matchup (and truly in general) I would reccomend running 1 or 2 more Keldeo-EX (Since the card was reprinted in Legendary Treasures, it is far cheaper and easier to acquire).

For Plasma decks running Frozen City (the stadium you are referring to) you might want to run some stadiums of your own to counter them. Unfortunately, the best stadium for Blastoise (tropical beach) is terrifically expensive, so you might want to run something either simple (like Pokemon Center from Next Destinies) or null/useless (like Twist Mountain from Dark Explorers). Try to prevent Lugia from taking knockouts on you're Keldeo, and try to KO it before it takes more than 1 KO.