Ruling Energies changing type

Meaty

You can't deny that Psyduck is beast. I guess.
Member
HydreigonRedCollection52.jpg


Dark Aura Ability
All Energy attached to this Pokémon is {D} instead of its usual type

I realize this card isn't out yet in English (or even Japanese), but its ability says that all energy attached to it become {D} energies instead of their usual types. Say I have a {P} energy attached to my active Hydregion and a Metagross (http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_EqYSOZLTe9s/TBEhTrBLmhI/AAAAAAAAARY/lwMS7mgHlUA/s320/4-metagross.jpg) on my bench. Does Hydreigon get free retreat?

EDIT: I figured as much, but thanks anyway. But what would the ruling be with Ho-Oh LEGEND's pokebody? Since I would think it's the same.
EDIT#2: Ok thanks again.
 
Until the card is officially out in English, we can't give an official ruling.~Mark
 
What I can do is give you an answer based on a card already out in English, say Ho-Oh LEGEND or even Charizard.

If an Energy card is on Ho-Oh or Charizard, it becomes {R} INSTEAD of its usual type. Therefore, Metagross' Poke-Body cannot benefit those Pokemon unless the Body is switched off. When the Body is on, any {P} on Charizard are treated as {R} instead, so they don't get free retreat.

Of course, I can't say if that will be true for Hydreigon, but it will most likely be the same. But yeah, in future, ask questions about English cards - we don't answer questions about Japanese ones.
 
Back
Top