Ruling A few questions about specifics on certain poke-powers

Xario1

[NBWC]
Member
Recently, I've been confused about some of the wording on some poke-powers. My questions mostly have to do with cards that say "once during your turn," and includes a refence to a pokemon or poke-power.

My questions:

1. When a poke-power (or something else) on a pokemon refers to that pokemon's name(such as, "once during your turn, when you play *pokemon's name*, do action/you may do action"), does it:
a. Refer to that card specifically?
b. Refer to all pokemon with that same name?
c. Something else (please explain)
(example: togekiss GE, lake spirits LA)

2. When a poke-power (or something else) on a pokemon refers to itself (mostly refering to porygon2 GE: "Once during your turn(before your attack), you may discard a supporter from you hand and use the effect of that card as the effect of this power."), does it:
a. Refer to the effect becoming the effect of that power on that single card?
b. Refer to the effect becoming the effect of that power on all the pokemon/cards with that same poke-power on them?
c. Something else (please explain)
 
1 It refers to the card, and only the card the power is on.
2 It only applies to that specific pokemon, not others with the same name.
 
Here's the trick you can apply to check these rulings for yourself.

If you can change the name of the Pokémon in the power text with "This Pokémon", then it will only apply to that Pokémon and that Pokémon only. So...

"Once during your turn, when you put Uxie from your hand onto your bench..."
would become
"Once during your turn, when you put THIS POKÉMON from your hand onto your bench..."

Cards rarely have powers that work for every Pokémon in play with the same name. In fact, those are so rare that I can't think of a proper example...
 
I don't know of a Power that works that way, however, I do know of a Poke-Body that works that way:
126-shaymin-lv.x.jpg

Notice in the Thankfulness Poke-Body, Shaymin is preceded by the word "any". This means that none of your Pokemon with the name 'Shaymin' get the effect. So if the power doesn't say 'any', but just says its own name, it refers to that specific Pokemon, and no other.
 
Back
Top