A Cheap Way Of Getting Back Into The Game

marioman11

Aspiring Trainer
So it's been quite a few years since I've even step into a nearby league but as I've been searching boxes of old cards to sell, it has been making me feel a bit nostalgic. I was an active player in tournaments back in 5th-8th grade and now I'm a high school graduate who's interested in checking out the game again. I remember playing a lot of the old EX and diamond/pearl sets. I think the last event I went to was a pre-release for one of the HG/SS sets.

Are there any safe, money efficient ways I could do to get back into the game? Is it worth the experience? How has the game changed over time?

RE: How to get back into playing?

I only recently began playing, so I do not have any experience with the ex, DP, and HGSS sets. But from what I've seen, most seem to agree that today's modified format is faster, and far more centered on Basic Pokemon (the new EX cards, primarily). This isn't a bad thing, in my opinion, but there are those who object to it.

If you are at all interested in playing the game again, I would have to say that you should at least give it a shot. No matter what I or others tell you, the only way to find out for sure if it's worthwhile is to go at it yourself.

How should you do this? Well I started by playing a deck on an online simulator (specifically PlayTCG, as it does not cost anything to use and gives you access to all modified-legal cards with no other restrictions, but the official simulator, Pokemon Trading Card Game Online/PTCGO is a lot more streamlined, graphically and mechanically, while having a cost to play anything but the provided theme decks).