General Neko's Moth-Watching Thread

Very little moth activity during this cool spell, but I got a Scalloped Sallow last night. Some individuals have darker lines that make the patterns pop more.

NeflnN1.jpg

150 and more to see!

weird glitch going on where I can't see the images
I noticed that the other day. I imagine it was something on Imgur's end. Everything seems to be loading fine now (for me, anyway).

I bet there's one moth you won't be able to get a picture of any time soon: the mammoth.

Haha... I'll take my leave now

(Actually though, really cool pictures. Love to see when people have such a huge passion for something! Do I sense a current / future ecologist?)
:p

I had to check if there was a Mammoth Moth to spoil your joke, but there doesn't seem to be one! (Although some people call the giant silkmoths "mammoth" moths in reference to their size, in which case I've got a few.)

Right now it's just a hobby. I majored in graphic design in college, but I certainly wouldn't mind going back to study this sort of thing in the future (especially since there's so much competition in the art world). I actually wanted to be a scientist when I was a kid but changed gears over the years. I love sharing things that I've found/learned, so I could see myself as some kind of science/biology teacher. (I also have an interest in fossils, mainly plants and marine invertebrates, though I don't hunt them as actively anymore since I think I've already collected all of them on the property.)

Last edited:
I've passed 150!

Ipsilon Dart (aka Dark Sword-Grass Moth)
Ob93IY4.jpg

Roadside Sallow
uhallc9.jpg

Bicolored Sallow (aka Shield-Backed Cutworm Moth)
T5VHLV7.jpg

No new moths sadly (probably won't be getting anymore this year), but here's a caterpillar I found last month. I think it's one of the Hypena-genus species.

zM3YRlI.jpg