‘Sun & Moon’ Card Rulings!

We now have the official rulings document for Sun & Moon:


The Burned special condition has changed from Sun & Moon going forward. Now when a Pokemon is Burned in between turns, you first put two damage counters on that Pokemon, then flip a coin to see if the Burned condition remains (heads it’s gone, tails it remains).

(Note: This rule will be in effect at prerelease tournaments, but won’t go into effect until Sun & Moon becomes tournament legal on 2/17/2017.)


== QUEENLY MAJESTY (Tsareena – SM: Sun & Moon)

Q. When you use Tsareena’s “Queenly Majesty” Ability, when the opponent reveals their hand do you get to choose which card to discard or is it random?

A. You get to choose.

Tsareena Collection Sun Moon#8 Tsareena – Grass – HP140
Stage 2 – Evolves from Steenee

Ability: Queenly Majesty
Once during your turn (before your attack), when you play this card from your hand to evolve 1 of your Pokemon, you may look at your opponent’s hand and discard 1 card.

[G][C][C] Trop Kick: 80 damage. Heal 20 damage from this Pokemon and remove all Special Conditions from this Pokemon.

Weakness: Fire (x2)
Resistance: none
Retreat: 2

== SEARCH THE PREMISES (Gumshoos GX – SM: Sun & Moon)

Q. If I have multiple Gumshoos-GX in play, can I use each of their “Search the Premises” Abilities or am I limited to only one total per turn?

A. Each Gumshoos-GX can use its own ability once per turn. So if you have two of them you can use the first Search the Premises to have your opponent reveal their hand, then use a Trainer card such as N to have the opponent shuffle their hand into their deck and draw new cards, and then use the second Search the Premises to have your opponent reveal their hand again.


== METRONOME (Clefairy – Evolutions)

Q. Can I have Clefairy’s “Metronome” copy a GX attack, and if so does it use up my “one GX attack per game”?

A. Yes you can, and yes it does. Also if you’ve already used your GX attack for the game, then you cannot choose a GX attack with Metronome. (Jan 5, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)

== DRAGON’S WISH (Dragonair – Sun & Moon)

Q. On the turn after using Dragonair’s “Dragon’s Wish” attack, when I attach any number of Energy cards from my hand do I have to attach them all at once, or can I attach them whenever I want during my turn?

A. You do not have to attach them all at once. You can attach them from your hand whenever you like during the duration of your turn following Dragon’s Wish.

Q. If I use Dragonair’s “Dragon’s Wish” attack and then on the following turn evolve it to Dragonite, can I still attach the energies or not?

A. Yes, absolutely! The Dragon’s Wish effect resides on the player, not on the Pokemon.

Dragonair Sm1#43 Dragonair – Dragon – HP90
Stage 1 – Evolves from Dratini

[C] Dragon Prayer: During your next turn, you may attach as many Energy as you like from your hand to your Pokemon.

[G][L][C] Tail Whip: 60 damage.

Weakness: Fairy (x2)
Resistance: none
Retreat: 2