Discussion XY9: The Set That Throws Balance Out the Window?

Empoleon_master

I can stop watching Anime any time I don't want to
I make this thread because I've been playing for 6 years competitively and have NEVER seen a set that releases this many OP cards at once, I've seen bad formats, balanced formats, a combination of the two (BW-Boundaries crossed as there was landorus + lasers and Mewtwo EX, which was expensive to play, or you had the option of paying $360+ for 3 Tropical Beach to play Keldeo Blastoise)...and now we have a set that is releasing some cards that will seemingly make it rock paper Scizors for decks, because if you play anything else it pretty much gets locked out by the main 3 decks.

Here are the cards I am mainly concerned about either together or seperately ruining the format.

Kricketot – Grass – HP60
Basic Pokemon

[G] Bug’s Sense: Search your deck for 3 [G] Pokemon, show them to your opponent, then put them into your hand. Shuffle your deck afterward.

Weakness: Fire (x2)
Resistance: none
Retreat: 1

That is a maybe for Durant decks if they do not run pure level and repeat balls.

Durant – Grass – HP70
Basic Pokemon

[G] Mountain Gnaw: 10 damage. Discard the top card of your opponent’s deck.

[G][C] Grind Down: If this Pokemon has any damage counters on it, discard the top 4 cards of your opponent’s deck.

Use Xerneas XY + Team Magma's secret base and you get easy energy and damage onto Durant + future set up potential.

Garbodor – Psychic – HP100
Stage 1 – Evolves from Trubbish

Ability: Garbotoxin
If this Pokemon has a Pokemon Tool card attached to it, each Pokemon in play, in each player’s hand, and in each player’s discard pile has no Abilities (except Garbotoxin).

[P][C][C][C] Panic Bomb: 60 damage. Your opponent’s Active Pokemon is now Poisoned and Confused/

Weakness: Psychic (x2)
Retreat: 3