Ruling Weezing RR ruling question

Empoleafeon

Aspiring Trainer
Member
If a Pokemon with an attack that bypasses effects when it does damage attacks a confused Weezing RR, does the no Prize Card count as an effect, thus causing a prize to be taken, or does it not count as an effect because it does not do anything to the attack itself?
 
If weezing is confused, you don't take a prize card for knocking it out. By passing the confusion will not do anything. If you instead do an attack that can paralyze or put to sleep and do enough damage for the ko, you do take a prize card because you apply all effects of the attack before checking for a KO.~Mark
 
Just wanted to add this note because I read the original question a bit differently than dragonexpert, and I want to make sure all bases are covered.

To me, it sounded like that original post was asking what would happen if a confused Weezing RR was the target of an attack whose effect stated that the attack's damage was not affected by any effects on the defending pokemon, such as the Fastwave attack (Water-type Arceus AoA). Even in this case, you would still not take a prize card for the KO on Weezing, as the effect bypass of these attacks only means that damage is not modified by weakness, resistance, etc. Weezing's body does not protect him from damage or alter the amount of damage received, which is the only type of effect that attacks such as Fastwave can bypass, so these attacks would not allow you to take a prize card against a confused Weezing RR.

Hope this helps.
 
Back
Top