Ruling Two Pokemon of the same name...

S

sirruss3ll

Some friends and I were curious about these situations.

If Umbreon (10/90 Undaunted) uses Moonlight fang and gets switched out with another Umbreon, what happens? Does the effect of the attack wear off since the Pokemon was switched out or does it remain active?

"During your opponent's next turn, prevent all effects, including damage, done to Umbreon by attacks from your opponent's Pokemon that has any Poke-Powers or Poke-Bodies."

The other issue is with Quagsire GL (76/111 Rising Rivals). His Poke-Body, Submerge, reads "As long as Quagsire GL is on your Bench, prevent all damage done to Quagsire GL by attacks (both yours and your opponent's)." If you had one on your bench and one as your active, does his ability prevent damage on the active? Is it a situation where "Quagsire GL" is replaced with "this Pokemon," resulting with damage being done to Quagsire GL?
 
In both scenarios it is treated as this Pokemon, not Umbreon. The new Umbreon would not have the effect of Moonlight Fang. The Active Quagsire GL will take damage.~Mark
 
The only exception to something like this would be if it said "prevent any Quagsire GL from taking damage...". One card I know that has an effect like this is Shaymin LV.X's Thankfulness; the effect is on any Grass-type Pokemon, excluding all that are named "Shaymin".
 
Back
Top