Specifically the Special Metal Energy from Undaunted that reads:
"Damage done by attacks to the Pokémon that Metal Energy is attached to is reduced by 10 (after applying Weakness and Resistance). Ignore this effect if the Pokémon that Metal Energy is attached to isn't Metal. Metal Energy provides Metal Energy. (Doesn't count as a basic Energy card.)"
My question is in a situation like this. I have my Grass Scyther that I intend to evolve into Scizor Prime, so I want to load up the metal energies. If I attach two of these Special Metal Energies to Scyther, does the phrase "Doesn't count as a basic Energy card." mean that I can't use Scyther's attack, which requires two non-specific energies? Also, can I discard them as part of the retreat cost for Scyther?
I've had two different judges tell me two different things on this, so I would like to get y'all's opinion. Thanks.
"Damage done by attacks to the Pokémon that Metal Energy is attached to is reduced by 10 (after applying Weakness and Resistance). Ignore this effect if the Pokémon that Metal Energy is attached to isn't Metal. Metal Energy provides Metal Energy. (Doesn't count as a basic Energy card.)"
My question is in a situation like this. I have my Grass Scyther that I intend to evolve into Scizor Prime, so I want to load up the metal energies. If I attach two of these Special Metal Energies to Scyther, does the phrase "Doesn't count as a basic Energy card." mean that I can't use Scyther's attack, which requires two non-specific energies? Also, can I discard them as part of the retreat cost for Scyther?
I've had two different judges tell me two different things on this, so I would like to get y'all's opinion. Thanks.