Discussion Solgaleo GX, Gardevoir GX, and mild Ultra Prism analysis (Standard Post-ULP)

Sal Fontana

Glaceon GX hype!
Hello pokebeach! This is my first time posting in the PTCG Competitive thread, although I have been flitting around the deck garage here and there. There are a few things on my mind when it comes to the competitive format. The first thing is Solgaleo GX. This card is such a beast, and I feel that it's vastly underrated. In a standard format ruled by two prize attackers with 230 or less HP, Solgaleo can just eat up anything that comes its way. With the release of Ultra Prism right around the corner, and with it a Solgaleo Prism star that is astounding, what better time to start theorymonning about potential meta-dominating Solgaleo decks!

I have been playtesting my own vanilla Solgaleo list that is very, very potent. I am not ready to share it just yet (there are a few kinks that I have to iron out), but I can tell you about the general strategy: use Sol Bust GX turn 2 to accelerate FIVE energy onto your board and proceed to sweep the game in the next 3 or 4 turns. One point of nitpicking for this deck is what support Pokemon to run. You NEED some energy acceleration/retrieval for that one turn where you have no energy on the board because you discarded it all. Rayquaza GRI seemed to be the play, but I found it a little too clunky, and way too easy to KO. An obvious solution is to play the Solgaleo Prism Star, who, for one metal energy, accelerates up to SIX basic energy from the discard to your Pokemon! It seriously feels like cheating when you use it... However, you can only play one of these bad boys, so we need a fallback. This is where Registeel/Mt. Coronet comes in.