[Smogon OU] Les Révolutionnaires

Professor Palutena

The Queen
w4QGaPV.png

300px-Prise_de_la_Bastille.jpg

fRg3JJS.png

Hello everyone. It’s been awhile, hasn’t it? My last RMT, Fortissimus Unus, was posted way back in January 2013. I’ve come and I’ve gone a lot since then, and Pokemon itself has changed a lot since then as well. We’ve been given a new set of games, X and Y, to work with, and we’re still in the developing stages of what can be called a metagame. I’ve been using this team for around two months, and it’s a bit of an adaptation of what I built Pre-Bank as well. So needless to say, this team and I have a lot of history together. While I haven’t particularly enjoyed the X/Y games as video games, this new metagame is unbelievably enjoyable and laddering has become a great way to spend my free time (and a bit more).

Before I get any further, I’ll tell you that anyone expecting some anti-meta team is going to be disappointed. This is a fairly standard OU team. I just liked the sound of my title. However, half of the team members currently reside in either BL or UU, which may make you feel better. : P Given that X and Y take place in an idealized France, I figured it made sense to make the team French themed, while also fitting in my love of History. Thus, this is a team themed on the French Revolution.

J34KkYc.png

127-m.png
I love Mega Pinsir. It’s easily one of the best setup sweepers, if not the best one, in the metagame right now. Aerilate is a fantastic offensive ability, as the Flying-type is one of the best offensive types in Pokemon. It also makes up for the lack of a Life Orb that Mega Pinsir can’t hold. While it isn’t as strong as the golden arrows Mega Medicham and Mega Mawile, Mega Pinsir makes up for it with a solid base speed stat of 105, outspeeding the very populated base 100 speed tier. The fearsome power of Mega Pinsir leaves it with very few counters: Skarmory, Zapdos and Rotom-W as well as the rare Bronzong and Rotom-H.

127-m.png