Help Ruling on Tag Team GX attacks w/ energy boosters

Discussion in 'Pokémon Trading Card Game' started by John InCENAroar, Nov 27, 2018.

  1. John InCENAroar Hunting Shiny Terrakion, Apostle of Pickle Brick
    John InCENAroar

    Member

    So I'm reading the effects on the new Tag Team GX cards, and this thought didn't really click for me until I saw the recently revealed Gengar and Mimikyu TTGX. Though it's not as much of an issue with Venusaur (both baby and TTGX), would the Gardevoir that doubles the effect of Psychic energy, the one from Next Destinies, trigger the extra effect on Geng/ikyu TTGX's GX attack? Or is the phrase "attached" meaning there are two on the card at the time of use?
     


  2. PokeMedic Don't talk to me or my Pokemon ever again
    PokeMedic

    Articles Staff Activities Staff Member

    This is a tricky one. It's an unreleased card so we couldn't even ask for an official ruling yet. Let's take a crack at it, though.

    As you mentioned with Gardevoir, there have been Abilities that allow one Basic Energy card to count as two. The most recent that I know of off the top of my head is Venusaur from Shining Legends. It's Ability Jungle Totem is similiar to the Ability Psychic Mirage that Gardevoir has. It just swaps [P] Energy for [G] Energy. Here's a ruling from the compendium that works on similar mechanics with Venusaur and Rayquaza GX that may offer precedence:

    So that's saying that one Basic Energy can count as two Basic Energy for the sake of boosting damage. Rayquaza's attack here says that it does damage times the number of [G] and [L] Energy attached. Not actual Energy cards, just specific types of energy. "This attack does 30 damage times the amount of basic Grass and basic Lightning Energy attached to your Pokemon"

    Horror House GX says "if this Pokemon has at least 1 extra [P] Energy attached to it (in addition to this attack’s cost), each player draws cards until they have 7 cards in their hand". It says energy attached, not energy card, so it looks like could work in the way you thought with Gardevoir NXD57.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
  3. Kontoleon Aspiring Trainer
    Kontoleon

    Member

    The bonus of Tag Team GX is Must or Can?
    I mean i can go from simble if i want, or i must go the max one?(To avoid deck out, of if you not want to get the cards back or if you don't want to give opponent extra cards e.t.c
    And if i undrestand correct the price card you taken AFTER the effect, so Snorlax and eevee (if you K.O tag team GX) you got 10 cards later the 3 price cards and next the draw one 14 cards correct?
     

Viewing Now: 0 Members + 0 Guests

There are no registered members viewing this forum. Why not register here and start a discussion?


Share This Page