Ruling 'Reg' Family Poke-Power Qus

M

moomoo88

Hi there,

I have some doubts in regards to the poke-powers of regice, regirock & registeel LA as most of the current meta-decks (e.g. g-dos deck & machamp deck) may tech those in.

For Regice's poke-power, it says that '...Discard 2 cards from your hand and choose 1 of your oppenent's Active Pokemon that isn't an evolved pokemon. Then, your opponent switches that pokemon with 1 of his/her benched pokemon...'

QUESTION
So, when my opponent who plays down regice into his bench, can my opponent still activate regice's power and do the discarding of 2 cards even though my active pokemon is an evolved pokemon?

If can, does the discarding can also apply to registeel too even though registeel don't have any damage counter to remove?

And finally, for regirock's power, is it a must to have a fighting energy in the discard pile before any discarding of 2 cards plus attaching of energy to regirock?

Thanks in advance =)
 
So, when my opponent who plays down regice into his bench, can my opponent still activate regice's power and do the discarding of 2 cards even though my active pokemon is an evolved pokemon?

Yes they can.

If can, does the discarding can also apply to registeel too even though registeel don't have any damage counter to remove?
Yes they can.

And finally, for regirock's power, is it a must to have a fighting energy in the discard pile before any discarding of 2 cards plus attaching of energy to regirock?

I don't have a direct ruling from the Compendium on this one, however, the contents of the Discard Pile is public knowledge. If it is known that there is no energy in the Discard Pile I would say no you can't because of this ruling:
The Compendium said:
Energy Returner
Q. If I have less than 4 energy cards in my discard pile, can I play "Energy Returner"?
A. Only if you have at least one energy in your discard. If you have less than 4 energy, return all of them to your deck. (HS:Unleashed FAQ; May 13, 2010 PUI Rules Team)

If another Professor has a different opinion feel free to share it.~Mark


Also please include scans of the card(s) your questions involve.
 
Regarding Regirock's Regi Cycle, the card does clearly state you can only use it if you have a Fighting Energy in the discard pile. look, see?

Also, moomoo88, I think you might be under the impression that the Regis have 'drop powers', i.e. you play it down and you can only use it once. That's not true; you can use each one's Power once per turn as long as you have it in play.
 
Back
Top