Ruling Rainbow, RDL, Miasma and Fossils

Virde

Aspiring Trainer
Member
A few questions:

Rainbow Energy provides a energy of ever type but only one at a time.

If I have it attached to RDL providing my electric energy (and two fire energies providing my fire energy requirement and something else for the colorless) do I still discard the rainbow even though it's providing me the electric energy at the moment?

---

Miasma Valley states "When a player plays a pokemon from their hand (Excluding {P} and {G} pokemon) that pokemon takes 2 damage" does this apply to Fossil's since they are not a pokemon whilst in the hand and are only Pokemon once in play?
 
You will have to discard Rainbow Energy because it is providing all types, however, it only counts as 1 energy in terms of how many are attached.

The other I will have to look up.~Mark
 
1) Yes, you would still have to discard Rainbow energy. It is simultaneously providing all energy types - regardless of what energy cost you're using it to satify - which includes {R}, so it would be discarded.

2) I cannot find an official ruling on this. However, here are my thoughts. First, review the below ruling on Miasma Valley:

Compendium said:
Q. If Kecleon with the "Colorful Body" Poke-BODY is played while Miasma Valley is in play, does Kecleon take two damage counters?
A. No. Kecleon immediately counts as all types, including Grass and Psychic, and so does not take any damage. (Jul 23, 2009 PUI Rules Team)

Given this ruling, I would say that Fossils will still take damage when put into play if Miasma Valley is also in play. My reasoning: Kecleon is only a colorless-type Pokémon while in your hand, and colorless-type Pokémon would normally be affected by Miasma Valley. However, his BODY kicks in as soon as he enters play and protects him. Apparently, Miasma Valley's effect is not checked until after the Pokémon enters play (and Bodies are activated, etc.). That being the case, Fossils are already in play and are therefore considered Pokémon by the time the check is made against Miasma Valley.

Any other professor who reads this is invited to weigh in.

EDIT: half-ninja'd.
 
"Play Armor Fossil as if it were a {C} Basic Pokemon."

Since Kecleon's Poke-Body kicks into effect immediately, preventing it from getting hit by Miasma Valley, I would reason that the {C} typing of fossils also takes effect immediately. Fossils would take damage.
 
Back
Top