Ruling Rainbow Energy in "discarding attacks"

The situation with Houndoom GE is correct.
Compendium said:
Q. When using Houndoom's "Black Fire" attack, what happens if I discard an Energy card that provides multiple types of Energy at the same time?
A. If the Energy card you discarded provides all types (for example, Rainbow Energy), then both effects would trigger - the "Black Fire" attack would to 70 damage AND apply the Burned Special Condition to the Defending Pokemon. (DP:Great Encounters FAQ; Feb 21, 2008 PUI Rules Team)
However, Magnezone Lv. X requires you discard a {L} AND a {M}(two energy). Since Rainbow Energy only provides one energy, you can not discard it alone to meet the requirements of the attack.
Compendium said:
Q. If I have an attack that says to discard a Fire Energy and a Water Energy, may I discard a single Rainbow Energy card or Multi Energy card to satisfy that requirement?
A. No, even though Rainbow and Multi provide all energy types simultaneously, they only provide one unit of energy. You can discard it for either the Fire or the Water, but you would still need to discard at least one additional card of the required type. (Dec 11, 2008 PUI Rules Team)
 
Back
Top