Ruling Multiple Energy and Poke-Body

DancingCactuar

Aspiring Trainer
Member
I have several questions about multiple energy cards and and their effect on specifically 2 Pokemon:
1) Secret Wonders - Magmortar with Flame Body
2) Arceus - Sceptile with Green Breath
If I attach something like Double Rainbow Energy to these Pokemon, does it count as putting 2 energy on them which then lets me remove 4 damage counters from them?
A similar question I have: their attacks that do 20x the number of energy attached to them, does something like Double Rainbow Energy provide 2 energy for those moves which then would allow them to do 40 damage?
 
For the first part of your question, they would not heal anything, because it needs to attach a "fire/grass energy CARD" a double rainbow energy would not heal them

However, for your second question, they would count as two energys if it asks with that wording.
 
RB, that is actually incorrect, because you are attaching an energy card. The body then looks at what type of energy was attached. Rainbow energy provides FRGLWPMD energy, so it triggers the body as it provides R energy.
 
If it meant that, then it would just say a "fire energy". The word card is added so that it can only apply to basic energy.
 
If it means to be applied to only basic energies, then it would specify that by saying "when you attach a basic {R} fire energy (card)". The addition of "card" is so that you only receive the effect for each actual card you attach. If you were to attach a Double Rainbow, you would remove 2 damage counters because, even though it provides two energies, it only counts as one energy card.
 
*examines wording on card*
31-magmortar.jpg


Rainbow Energy and similar Special Energies only provide their various types when they are actually in play. If you attached a Rainbow Energy, Flame Body does not trigger because Rainbow Energy does not provide {R} while in your hand - it must be an actual {R} energy card. You have to attach a {R} energy card from your hand, not a Rainbow Energy card. (Double Rainbow Energy can still fuel Flame Blast for 2 energy, since it provides that energy in play.)
 
OK, I've realized my mistake, when it says "Fire Energy Card" Rainbow/multi/DRE can all activate it. However, because it says card, you can only remove two damage counters from magmortar since you only attached one energy card.
 
Back
Top