Ruling Muk's Sludge Cell

Hydro King

The Water Pro
Member
Now that the English cards for Platinum are out, I've read up on what exactly Muk's Sludge Cell Poke-Body does. Here's the card's exact text:
"If Muk remains affected by any Special Conditions between turns, remove 2 damage counters from Muk."
But there's one thing I'm not sure about... Let's say Muk is Poisoned. Would he still take damage from Poison as well as being healed of 2 damage counters? And if so, which would occur first? - Muk's Poke-Body or the effects of Poison?
 
...yes it would.

You'd take the 10 damage from Poison and then remove 20 from Sludge Cell. So, you'd be healing 10 damage each turn. :D
 
Both of you are wrong.
Because both things are occuring at the same time the owner of Muk PT would get to choose. You could choose to have the Poison done first and then heal or vice versa.
 
Lunar Wing said:
Both of you are wrong.
Because both things are occuring at the same time the owner of Muk PT would get to choose. You could choose to have the Poison done first and then heal or vice versa.

...but both of them still happen. I didn't know about the timing, but I did know that both happen.
 
Lunar Wing - You don't get to decide when the Poison is placed, that's always constant, but you can choose the healing before it or after it. It all means the same thing, but it's a technicality that would provide easier explanation to other people in the future.
 
Just a note when it does matter. If Muk has 10 HP remaining, and is Poisoned. You would have the choice of which goes first. It is similar to the Electivire Lv X and SW Magmortar ruling.

Q. When I attach a Fire energy to my Magmortar while it's facing an Electivire LV.X, which Poke-BODY is applied first, "Flame Body" which removes two damage counters, or "Shocking Tail" which places two damage counters?
A. Since both Bodies are triggered by the same event (attaching the Fire energy), the person controlling the Pokemon receiving the energy decides in which order they are applied. (May 8, 2008 PUI Rules Team)
 
Technically speaking, the order does not matter. That's because there is no order to it. When dealing with effects between turns all effects must occur before any Knock Outs are checked. Muk could have 10 HP left at the end of one turn, it doesn't matter what happens "first". "Order of actions" only applies to during a turn. Between turns the order doesn't matter because all actions must occur. But yeah, you would be healing 10 between turns if you are poisoned.
 
Back
Top