Ruling Mime Jr. SV Question

DNA

Goodbye, everyone. I'll miss you all.
Advanced Member
Member
All right, I know this question is really newby, and probably has a really simple answer, but it's been eating at me and I want to figure out.

(Just so you know, I am familiar with virtually all the TCG rulings in regards to Modified Format, so I am definitely not new to this sort of thing.)

Mime Jr.'s Encore attack says: "Choose 1 of the Defending Pokemon's attacks. That Pokemon can use only that attack during your opponent's next turn."

What I assume is it's pretty much the reverse of Amnesia. That is, IF the opponent decides to attack, it MUST select the chosen attack if it wishes to attack. (And if it doesn't have enough energy, too bad.)

Or, does Encore make attacking mandatory and you have to use that attack (which would fail if that Pokemon didn't have enough energy).

I am assuming it's the former (that is, IF the Defending Pokemon wants to attack, it has to select the Encore'd attack), but tell me if I'm mistaken. And I am pretty sure in both cases, since it is an effect of an attack, it is removed when the Pokemon evolves/retreats and Encore is negated entirely by Unown G or Bodies like Bibarel-SF or Toxicroak G.
 
You're right about the unown G, and other preventive effect thing. Encore forces you to do the chosen attack regardless of if you have proper energy. If you do not have proper energy, you can't attack. So bassically, attacking is still optional.
 
...I think you may have avoided the bit of my question that says 'Is my attack optional or not'?

Say I have the shiny Duskull active, and it has 2 Psychic energy. He uses Encore, and he chooses Ram. Yet I don't want to use Ram. Could I just choose to end my turn and not attack at all?
 
Yes, attacking is still optional.
you may choose to pass.
however, if you choose to attack you may only use the attack that was selected from the effects of encore.
unless you warp point/poke turn/evolve/retreat/etc out of it.
 
All right, that's what I thought. Thanks Frodus and Juliacoolo.
My question's been answered; mods can lock this topic.
 
Back
Top