Ruling Land Shake, Damage Bind, and Setup.

squirtwo

Haha what?
Member
I have a question regarding Torterra SF, Ampharos PT, and Uxie LA.

If I used the attack land shake while I had a Platinum Ampharos (with a working pokebody) on my bench, and during my opponents next turn they played a card such as Uxie, whos power activates on being played and it took damage from land shake, then would my opponent be allowed to use Uxie's set up pokepower?

On a side note, if an Uxie were to attack my active Garchomp SV and send their Uxie to the bottom of their deck, then would I return an energy or would they all go back to the deck with Uxie?
 
The answer regarding Land Shake is that Uxie cannot use the Poke-Power. This is based on the ruling regarding Miasma Valley and Damage Bind:
Q. Say Ampharos with the "Damage Bind" Poke-BODY is in play on the opponent's side and a stadium such "Galactic HQ" or "Miasma Valley" is in play. If I evolve a Pokemon with a Poke-POWER or put a Basic Pokemon with a Poke-POWER from my hand onto the bench, would I be able to use that Poke-POWER before the damage counters from the stadium are placed?
A. No, you could not. Before declaring the Poke-POWER, the damage counters from the stadium are placed. The Pokemon then becomes affected by Ampharos' "Damage Bind" Poke-BODY and therefore cannot use its Poke-POWER. (Apr 9, 2009 PUI Rules Team)
The damage counters are placed the instant Uxie hits the bench. At that time, Uxie cannot use its Poke-Power due to Damage Bind.

Regarding Dragon Intimidation Poke-Body, when you use an attack, you finish all effects of an attack before checking for external effects that do not alter damage. Uxie would go fully to the bottom of the deck, and Dragon Intimidation can't return the energy to the hand.
 
Back
Top