Hi, this may be a bit of a silly question but I haven't been playing for very long and would just like some clarification about specific card wording.
I was playing in a Battle Roads this past weekend, I was running Kingdra, at one point my opponent had a Mr. Mime (MT) on the bench, given the specific wording on Mr. Mime I gathered I should be able to attack their active pokemon with Kingdra's Dragon Pump attack, discard 2 cards and deal the extra 20 damage to the Mr. Mime, since Mr. Mime's Airy Wall Poke-Body specifically says "If your opponent's Pokemon that has 2 or less Energy cards attached to it attacks Mr. Mime".
My Kingdra did only have 1 Energy card attached to it but I wasn't actually attacking the Mr. Mime, I was attacking a different active Pokemon, the Judge ruled that since Kingdra's 20 damage to the bench was damage and not placing damage counters it does not work on Mr. Mime however I don't see anything supporting this written on Mr. Mime.
I know of how Unown G prevents the placement of damage counters but not damage however I do not see the reverse for Mr. Mime when it is having damage done to it on the bench in this way since I was not actually attacking the Mr. Mime.
Should my damage have been applied or am I over complicating things?
Thanks for any help
I was playing in a Battle Roads this past weekend, I was running Kingdra, at one point my opponent had a Mr. Mime (MT) on the bench, given the specific wording on Mr. Mime I gathered I should be able to attack their active pokemon with Kingdra's Dragon Pump attack, discard 2 cards and deal the extra 20 damage to the Mr. Mime, since Mr. Mime's Airy Wall Poke-Body specifically says "If your opponent's Pokemon that has 2 or less Energy cards attached to it attacks Mr. Mime".
My Kingdra did only have 1 Energy card attached to it but I wasn't actually attacking the Mr. Mime, I was attacking a different active Pokemon, the Judge ruled that since Kingdra's 20 damage to the bench was damage and not placing damage counters it does not work on Mr. Mime however I don't see anything supporting this written on Mr. Mime.
I know of how Unown G prevents the placement of damage counters but not damage however I do not see the reverse for Mr. Mime when it is having damage done to it on the bench in this way since I was not actually attacking the Mr. Mime.
Should my damage have been applied or am I over complicating things?
Thanks for any help