Discussion Is Delinquent OP?

Agidyne

Aspiring Trainer
Hello all,

I have been playing the pokemon tcg for a few years now but I am new to this forum, so forgive me if I put this thread in the wrong place.

Anyway, I saw the new supporter from RoTBS and thought it might break the game in a way. The idea is simple:
4 houndoom ex
3-4 Bunnelby (multi-strike)
4 red card
4 vs seeker
4 deliquents
4-or more stadiums

Boom, all of a sudden your opponent has one card in their hand the whole game while you are milling them and you have plenty of free space to work with. The only real limitation I see is not being able to get your red cards from the discard, but you could even run a couple of judge to set yourself up for next turn. Any thoughts on how this strategy could be even better or perhaps not as OP as it sounds to me?

The setup for this combo is strong, but it is quite a buildup before it isn't wasting your turn also.
You need to draw at least 5 specific cards before you can do it once(pokemon, energy, red card, delinquent and stadium), and after that you need 3 more cards to repeat( red card, delinquent/vs seeker and a stadium).
Take this with the fact that you can't use any other supporter each time, you might most likely put yourself in an as nasty dead draw as your enemy.
Yes I can see it being useful if they got a buildup deck and you use the 1 energy mill strat. But I don't see it being over powered.

But the red card + delinquent combo is so strong that I believe we will see it being used in most standard decks also.

You need an unlikely good hand and a lot of luck to make it work. A Basic Pokémon, Red Card, Delinquent and a stadium. The deck list will probably need to run many Basic Pokémon. If you do not start the game a mulligan could be really bad. Most regular decks play 4 stadium cards, however I rarely start with a stadium card in hand. A Delinquent deck should definitely run more than the usual 4 stadium cards. Or else your strategy is lost.