Ruling I'm confused about the ruling on Chandelure.

Brave Vesperia

Forum Smod
Forum Super Mod
Forum Mod
Member
http://pokebeach.com/scans/noble-victories/60-chandelure.jpg

What is preventing me from using the same Chandelure's ability twice in one turn if I have 2 Chandelure in play and retreat my active after using it's ability, send up my benched one then use it's ability, play Switch to put the one that used to be active back in the active spot and use it's ability again? I'm aware that it sais "once per turn", but I thought effects like that wore off after a Pokemon is benched? For example, if Beartic used Sheer Cold on an active Zekrom, it wouldn't be able to attack on the next turn unless the opponent had some way of getting it on the bench and back to the active spot, so what's preventing Chandelure from doing almost the same thing?
 
Benching the Pokemon only nullifies effects on the Pokemon. Such as burn, confused, "this Pokemon can't attack" statuses, and so on. Once you use an ability it may not be used again unless it says it can. The only way you can use the same Chandelure's ability twice in one turn is if you make him leave play. So, let's say, you seeker up a Chandelure and were able to play it down again, then you could use the ability again.
 
All Attack effect's and special conditions are removed when a pokemon is sent to the bench. Effects from pokepowers, bodies, and abilities remain as long as a pokemon is in play or until they wear off.

Here's a good example. If you attack with beartic, the defending pokemon would be able to attack if they went to the bench and returned to the active spot. However, if you used Skuntank SF's pokepower (almost the same thing), simply going to the bench and back won't allow for the attack to work.

Because it is an effect on Chandelur from an ability, it isn't removed on the bench.

(i am aware there is an errata on Skuntank, but by the way it is written on the card, it wouldn't be removed on the bench.)
 
Point taken, but an errata is an errata. However, yes, the point is: Poke-Power, Poke-Body, and Ability usage effects are not removed when a Pokemon goes to the bench.

That specific Chandelure used its ability already this turn. It doesn't matter whether or not it's Active; being Active is merely criteria for activation.
 
Back
Top