I can soon say I was a n00b

Strike Ninja

Aspiring Trainer
Umm...I'm kind of new to this Pokemon thing, but it seems like a fun game and I have some old pokemon from years ago, so I was thinking about trying it out.  I sorta know how to play, but I was wondering, is there like a YVD but for Pokemon?  YVD is short for Yugioh Virtual Desktop.  The program has like a Deck Builder and then you can duel (I think it is called battle in Pokemon) another opponent by either Connecting or Listening.  Xerocreative put the program out for free.  Does anyone know where you could get that kind of thing, but for Pokemon instead?  

Oh yeah, and it isn't obvious, I am also a pretty good YuGiOh player.  That's where the whole Strike Ninja name comes from.  

One last thing:  I know the basic rules like 1 attacker, 5 or 6 benched pokemon allowed, as many trainer cards can be as you want, they can evolve up to the next stage each turn if you have the next higher stage of a pokemon on the field and the evolution card in hand, and 1 energy per turn.  But what are Stadiums (are they like Field Spells?)?Can you still use cards from the older sets (like Fossil or whatever those sets were called)?  Is Professor Oak legal for decks?  If someone could send a link to where I could read the answers to these questions and maybe an online rule book, that would be nice.  

Danke

there's 2 programs similar to YVD called apprentice and another one called OTCGN. apprentice is available on the front page below clefairy on the left.
stadiums are similar to fields and tools are similar 2 equips
(pokemon rules over all card games!! (except watching poker on TV wich is the funnest thing on earth (lol))).