I am new

Wizzblade

Leaf Blade!
I am extremely new to the pokemon card game. As in; I just started with the diamond/pearl set. I understand all of the aspects of play, but I am not familiar with any of the older cards from the EX sets and don't know which ones are good. Right now I have the Inferno Zone deck and the Royal Frost deck as well as 6 packs of other cards. So far, I have not been lucky enough to get many powerful cards in my packs, and I don't have enough money to buy a ton more packs or buy lots of cards on the internet. I want to know how I would go about making a deck that is more powerful than the ones I bought.

Well, firstly, Have around 16 energys in a deck, but if the decks a crawdaunt ex deck or a deoxys ex one have more, I know that some theme decks have a massive 24 energys!
You will need some good cards (obviously), but dont just go and put say, A gengar, A Luxray, An Inferape, An empoleon and a torterra in, Have only 1 or 2 types in your deck, not 5 or 6!
If your running say... An empoleon, Running one empoleon, 2 prinplups and 3 piplups would be a simple way to improve your deck.
Im sure I could think of loads more basic (or advance!) tips, but I dont have much more time today.

Thanks. I am going to try to organize what cards I have. I really need a Lv. X pokemon to help my decks though.

You don't necessarily need a Lv. X but it is always good to have, try not overdo the Pokemon you have because trainers are just as important in a real deck.

I recomend of you are new bought aruond to have 5 diferant decks of types to have al energys and ideas and to buy aruond 18 or 36 bosters that would be a wonderfull start .

any way you have to much time to prepare to next citys

here use this for a start

3 or 4 starter
2-1-2 second
3-2-3-1 main

trainers like celios,candy,holon engines,tvr,scott,stones

enery like 15 or less have dre to speed things up

im a noob too but i learned about good trainers

Hey, yes, wellcome to pokemon TCG!