Ruling Huge error on Defender?!

Thomas

Aspiring Trainer
Member
First take a look at Defender's text:

72-defender.jpg


Then take a look at one of the questions bangiras translated from the Japanese FAQ:

Q: When a Drifblim with a “Defender” attached to it uses its “Balloon Tackle” attack, is Drifblim’s self-damage reduced by 20 due to the effect of Defender?
A: Yes, it’s reduced by 20.

I think you see where I'm going with this. The English scan says the damage reduction from Defender only applies for an opponent's attack, but the FAQ contradicts that.

I think PUI needs to either:
A: Stop doing a half arse job translating cards
B: Hire bangiras
 
If the scan is indeed correct, then Driblim doesn't have the damage done to it from its own attack reduced. The Japanese FAQ applies to Japan, not the US.~Mark
 
That's either an oversight, or intentional. Hopefully errata will be released to keep it like the original (remember how they messed up the HS Unleashed PlusPower?). If so, it'll probably be released sometime this week or the next (just like the Unleashed Errata).

And if it isn't, then we miss out. Although, we usually are supposed to play by the Japanese wording (Inviting Trap, Tail Code, etc.). I'll ask my TO who is on the Rules Team about this.
 
Back
Top