OU: Strategy How Will New OR / AS Mega Pokemon Affect the Metagame?

CuriousCleffa

Aspiring Trainer
I know we've got the new Mega starters, and Audino and Slowbro, but how do you guys think the megas will affect the VGC/OU metagame? I know Mega Kanga and Mega Lucario were used a lot, but what do you guys think?
I'm new to competitive battling, so sorry if this question doesn't make sense >.<

I made some changes to allow more discussion.
Discuss how the new Megas will affect the VGC/OU metagame!
Feel free to speculate, but stay within reason when discussing currently unknown stats.
-KoN

I could definitely see Mega Slowbro being used in VGC play. With Shell Armor as its ability, it won't have to worry about crits. If you also factor in that regular Slowbro has quite high defense already, it makes a nice wall. With its design, I expect Special Defense to also increase so it could actually wall Scarf Salamence and Garchomp. It has the potential to immediately threaten dragons with Ice Beam since it actually has usable Special Attack.

I do not see Mega Audino ever becoming meta in VGC format. It can only function as support, but its just outclassed.

Hi everyone this is my first post here . These two megas would be great in vgc 15 because they will bring trick room back , because of there bulk and slowbro ability before evolution will make it immune to taunt

King Arceus said:
I could definitely see Mega Slowbro being used in VGC play. With Shell Armor as its ability, it won't have to worry about crits. If you also factor in that regular Slowbro has quite high defense already, it makes a nice wall. With its design, I expect Special Defense to also increase so it could actually wall Scarf Salamence and Garchomp. It has the potential to immediately threaten dragons with Ice Beam since it actually has usable Special Attack.

I do not see Mega Audino ever becoming meta in VGC format. It can only function as support, but its just outclassed.