How to Get to Worlds?

josie0001

The Daddiest Dad Ever
After watching Mega Audino win it all last week on stream, my daughter and I made it our goal for the upcoming season to try and earn our invites to Worlds, her in the Juniors division and me in Masters. However, as a complete newb to the world of Pokemon (I was pretty deep into high school when the games were first released) - and to TCGs in general (her and I have only been playing since February) - I'm honestly not entirely sure how to proceed.

Mainly, I'm confused about the point structure. Like, for instance, how many points are up for grabs at a Regional Championship versus a State Championship, or at a League Challenge versus a Pre-Release Tournament? If I were to pick and choose, which event(s) would (potentially, of course) put us in the best position to earn the most possible points? We live in a very rural area, so pretty much every event, outside of casual (read: unsanctioned) tournaments at our local card shop, are a 4-5 hour drive away, so getting the most "bang for our buck," so to speak, is of the utmost importance.

Speaking of points, how many are needed to earn an invite to Nationals? What about Worlds? Is there a specific number, like a set-in-stone threshold we'd have to hit every year, or do the requirements fluctuate from season to season? And what about these travel vouchers I keep hearing about - how many points are needed to get in on that sweet action? As you can see by now, I'm pretty much lost.

Now I vaguely understand there's some kind of restructuring taking place, with the transition from Nationals to Continentals, etc. etc. etc. which complicates this whole process even more, especially for someone like me with absolutely no frame of reference, so maybe there are no good or easy answers to any of these questions right now - BUT, all that said, any information would be very much appreciated. Thanks so much!