Ruling Gengar SF vs Rescue Energy

Jahikoi

Aspiring Trainer
Member
I know this question was asked a lot previously, but the response was always ended with 'but we can't know for sure until the english version is released' or something along those lines. Once and for all, if a Gengar SF with Rescue Energy attached is knocked out by damage, it will trigger the knock out, flip for fainting spell, THEN be returned to your hand.

Is this correct? I assumed this based on rescue energy and his poke-power happining at the same time - and that you choose for fainting spell to occur first.

Edit: The wording of Gengar says 'if Gengar would be knocked out' and rescue energy says WHEN it is knocked out, which further supports the theory that both fainting spell and the 'rescue' will occur.

90-rescue-energy.jpg


18-gengar.jpg
 
You're correct. It doesn't say Gengar gets discarded if Fainting Spell works - just that the Attacking Pokemon is Knocked Out. Fainting Spell happens first, however, (since 'would be Knocked Out' happens before 'is Knocked Out' effects), and then Rescue Energy kicks in, returning Gengar to the hand.

Note: If you use Dusknoir LV.X's Ectoplasm Poke-Power, Rescue Energy won't trigger, since Ectoplasm (a 'would be Knocked Out' effect) happens before Rescue Energy, and the Poke-Power discards all other cards except for itself.
 
Back
Top