Ruling Gengar GL -> Gengar X

killers0820

Aspiring Trainer
Member
My friend has some Gengar GL's in his deck, and i want to know if he can evolve them into Gengar X's or not. I said he couldn't because "Gengar X evolves from "Gengar", and he would have to evolve into "Gengar GL X", but he remains adamant that it's legal. Is this a legal evolution?
 
You're right; it's not legal. The GL is part of the name. It would need to level up into a Gengar GL LV.X, which doesn't exist. (Does he not know that Luxray GL LV.X exists?)
 
Back
Top