Ruling Foul Play

Dante710

Aspiring Trainer
Member
http://pokebeach.com/scans/black-and-white/71-zoroark.jpg

Which one of these rulings is correct for Zoroark?

If a Pokémon attack copies another attack that says "discard all [X] Energy", then you must be able to discard at least one energy card of that type in order to use that effect or attack requirement. (Mar 15, 2007 PUI Rules Team)

or this one from the faq:

Q. If I use Zoroark's Foul Play and copy an attack that requires me to discard Energy, e.g. Magnezone LV.X's Cyber Shock, and I cannot discard that Energy from Zoroark, what happens? What about if I copied Emboar's Flare Blitz?
A. If Zoroark has that kind of energy attached to it, you must discard it if you are able. However, if Zoroark doesn't have that energy, the attack will still do its damage even if you discard nothing, as Foul Play does not require you to do everything else to perform that attack. (If a Metronome-style attack says "You must still do anything in order to perform that attack" and the target attack has a discard requirement, it must be fulfilled or the attack will do nothing. Zoroark's Foul Play, however, does not require this.)
 
The one from the FAQ: To date, Zoroark is the only Pokemon other than Base Set Clefable that doesn't require you to discard energy if Zoroark doesn't have it attached, if you're copying an attack.

If Zoroark does have the energy, you need to discard it; if it doesn't, you still do the damage anyway.
 
Back
Top