Ruling Flygon's "Sand Wall" vs. Dusknoir Lv.X Question

cpeterik

Aspiring Trainer
Member
This might be a bit of a stretch, but here goes:
Let's say I have an active Flygon that uses "Sand Wall" to knock out an opposing Dusknoir Lv.X with "Ectoplasm" poke-power. "Ectoplasm" effectively transforms Dusknoir into a Stadium card upon KO.
Would the effect of "Sand Wall" technically activate the same turn you KO the Dusknoir Lv.X? Or would you have to wait until the "stadium" card is in play the next turn?
If it is a legal play, you would be able to get rid of the Ectoplasm stadium without any repercussion and disable attacks on Flygon next turn.
Like I said, it's a stretch, but let me know.
 
Nope, Dusknoir transforms into a Stadium after Flygons attack.
I don't really get your second question, do you mean you can discard DuskGym during your next turn with Sandwall, if so, yes.
 
Ah okay thanks. I wasn't sure if the damage carried out, followed by the effect. But it happens all at once. And yes, I know that Sand Wall can take out DuskGym on any other turn, just not the same turn he is knocked out.
Thanks!
 
Just also to clarify, of what happens possibly later in the game, when Flygon uses Sand Wall after Dusknoir LV.X has Ecto'd himself, Flygon is impervious to attacks that turn, since a Stadium was discarded, but due to Ectoplasm's effect, Dusknoir LV.X returns to your hand instead of being discarded.
 
From Bulbapedia:
"...If another Stadium card comes into play or Dusknoir LV.X is discarded by the effects of any attacks, Poké-Powers, Poké-Bodies, Trainer, or Supporter cards, return Dusknoir LV.X to your hand."

It clearly says "..or Dusknoir LV.X is DISCARDED..." Yes, it does end up in your opponents hand, but it does use the word "Discarded". The text of "Sand Wall" uses congruent language, therefore the effect SHOULD be carried out, IMHO. I could be wrong, but then why would the Ecto text use the word "Discarded" ?

Edit: Just realized that you meant the effect WOULD carry out, the only thing is that Dusknoir would go to the hand. To clarify, Flygon would NOT be effected by attacks next turn.
 
Back
Top