Ruling Evolving on the very first turn

NotSeen

Aspiring Trainer
Member
Hi guys,

I forgot one more question yesterday, so, here it goes:

If I have on my active position this card: http://pokebeach.com/scans/great-encounters/63-caterpie.jpg, use a Poké-Power, the coin flip results as heads, the I become this card: http://pokebeach.com/scans/great-encounters/47-metapod.jpg and my next coin flip results as heads again, then I become whatever Butterfree, which attacks for 1 energy, I can still attack. That's the sure thing. But is it possilble to evolve Caterpie into Metapod and then maybe even a Metapod into Butterfree on the first turn this way?

Thanks for answer ;-)
 
You can use Caterpie's power to evolve it, but if you do you can't play a Butterfree from your hand onto the Metapod that same turn. You could only further evolve it that turn by using Metapod's Ability. That is why it says it counts as evolving Caterpie.~KA
 
^

I used to do that a lot right when the card came out. The reason that's legal is because that is evolving Pokemon by the use of a card effect, not by manually playing the Pokemon from your hand.
 
Back
Top