Ruling Discarding energy in order to use attacks

Jahikoi

Aspiring Trainer
Member
When using pokemon (such as garchomp c lv. x)


Does it go like this:

Discard Energy
Do 80 damage

or like this

Do 80 damage
discard energy

or do they both happen at the same time?


I guess the question is, does the discarding come after the attack (as normal effects of attacks do) or does the discarding come before the damage as part of the cost of the attack?
 
rulebook said:
a) Announce which attack your Active Pokémon is using. Make sure your Pokémon has
enough Energy attached to it to use this attack.
b) If necessary, make any choices the attack requires you to make. (For example, Lapras’s
Ice Blade reads, “Choose 1 of your opponent’s Pokémon.” So, you choose now.)
c) If necessary, do anything the attack requires you to do in order to use it. (For example,
Slowpoke’s Whimsy Tackle reads, “Flip a coin. If tails, this attack does nothing.”)
d) If necessary, apply any effects that might alter or cancel the attack. (For example, if
your Pokémon was attacked last turn by Koffing’s Smokescreen, Smokescreen puts
an effect on that Pokémon—if you flip tails for that Pokémon when it attacks, that
attack does nothing.)
e) If your Active Pokémon is Confused, check now to see if the attack fails.
f) Do whatever the attack says. Do any damage first, then do any other effects, and finally,
Knock Out any Pokémon that have damage greater than or equal to their Hit Points.

This is a cost so it is done before damage.~Mark
 
Back
Top