Ruling DCE?

Yeah, it will be. Since the new one says it's a Special Energy that provides {C}{C}, and the old one says it provides just that and isn't a basic energy card (by definition, all non-basic Energy cards are special energy cards), then they will be the same.
 
No, the old one isn't legal because all Base Set cards aren't able to be used in Modified play. The new DCE is the only DCE that can be used. That's why they make reprints of cards when certain cards leave modified play.
 
^^No, base set charizard is legal cause it got reprinted, so DCE is legal. As are Hitmonchan base set, Pikachu base set, Scyther and so on. Its legal.
 
grasspokemonmaster said:
No, the old one isn't legal because all Base Set cards aren't able to be used in Modified play. The new DCE is the only DCE that can be used. That's why they make reprints of cards when certain cards leave modified play.

You can use the old one if its a reprint. (ex. old rare candys, pokeballs, etc)
as long as the text in the card hasn't changed its meaning.

so yes you can use the old double colorless energy when the new one comes out and without translation.
 
There is a text change, but it's very minimal.

Base Set: Provides {C}{C} Energy. Doesn't count as a basic Energy card.
HG/SS Translation: (Special Energy) This card provides 2 units of Colorless Energy.

I don't see why the old ones wouldn't work; not counting as a "basic Energy card" implies "Special Energy". Otherwise they're exactly the same.
 
Now that I think about it, I don't think the old one will work.

If there is a move that says something like "If your opponent has and special energy attatched to them, discard it." The new one would be discarded, but the older one never says it's a special energy. It's just "not a basic". Unless they'll let you use it with a cardex print-out, I don't think they'll let you.
 
I believe that since it is basically a word-for-word translation of the base set DCE, it is legal for play with no newer reference needed.
So far the only cards that need newer refs are Charizard and PlusPower (the former because Energy Burn is a Poke-Body, and the latter because it's before W&R now instead of after).
But I guess we'll find out when it gets printed, won't we?
 
Juliacoolo said:
Now that I think about it, I don't think the old one will work.

If there is a move that says something like "If your opponent has and special energy attached to them, discard it." The new one would be discarded, but the older one never says it's a special energy. It's just "not a basic". Unless they'll let you use it with a cardex print-out, I don't think they'll let you.

I think anything that isn't a basic energy is by definition a special energy. Cyclone and warp energy don't say they are special energy, but everyone knows them to be. Since it is pokemon we're talking about, they may require the card-dex, but I think the odds of them saying no to old DCE altogether is pretty much zero.
 
Back
Top