Ruling Choosing bench damage

thekid116

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Member
My buddy and I had a disagreeance last night. We were playing 2 relatively new decks. I had my Kabutops out and powered up to do Rock Slide. I used it, and he automatically assumed that HE was the one to choose the damage to his bench (since he had played Houndoom in the same game, and it didn't specify that HE had to choose the card that was discarded with Dark Roar.

Now, my question is:
1) I was right with my Kabutops, correct? I am the one who chooses to put 10 damage on 2 of his benched. Because if not, wouldn't the text read something like "You're opponent chooses 2 benched pokemon. Put 10 damage on both pokemon." Am I right, or is he?

and 2) I was also right in assuming that Houndoom's Dark Roar attack lets ME discard a card from my hand, not lets him CHOOSE which card I discard, correct? Since it doesn't state, "Look at your opponents hand, choose 1 card, and discard it." Like the Murkrow from Undaunted. Am I right, or is he?
 
1) You're right. The attack's user always selects its targets. If the opponent would chooses, you're right in assuming that the wording would be similar to what you suggested.

2) The Houndoom's opponent discards 1 card of choice from his/her own hand. That is the only card from that player's hand the Houndoom owner may see. You are indeed correct.
 
Back
Top