Ruling Charizards Poké-Bodies

NotSeen

Aspiring Trainer
Member
Hi guys,

it seems, that I have yet another situation to resolve.

I have 3 different Charizards in play. Let's call them “One” “Two” and “Three”.
1. When “One” is active and the others are on my bench (and another three fire-type Pokémon, too, in total 5 fire-type Pokémon on my bench), and:
A: opponent has taken max. 2 prize cards, then: applies the “Three's” Poké-Body effect on each of my Charizards in play?
B: Would it be the same case, if the situation would be reverse (“Three” active and “One” on bench)?
C: (if previous answer is “yes”, and opponent has taken at least 3 prize cards, then) does it mean, that “One's” “Blast Burn” attack may do up to 220 damage (due to two Poké-Bodies and presence of 5 fire-type Pokémon on my bench)?

2. If “Two” is active and has for example 4 lightning energies attached to itself, due to it's Poké-Body, they're turned into fire-type energies. Its attack says, it must be discarded two energies, to perform that attack (Fire Spin) – it isn't specified what type of energy must them be. But if it was specified, would it mean, that I must attach to it at least two real-fire energies?

3. And for this time last question: If any Pokémon's attack/Poké-Body/Poké-Power refers to Pokémon Lv. X (for example Milotic's “Marvel Scale” Poké-Body) and opponent has a Pokémon Lv. X on active position, but the Pokémon uses an attack from its previous level, does it count as Pokémon Lv. X's attack, or “regular” Pokémon's?

Thanks for answers. ;-)
 
Question 1: All of those Poke-Bodies are self-referencing. Fury Blaze only applies to that card, and so does Fire Formation. Those Poke-Bodies would only add +50 (at most) to those specific Charizard's attacks; they would not carry over. They do not apply to all Charizard in play. (If it did, it would say "any Charizard".)

Question 2: If it doesn't specify, just discard 2 Energy of any kind. If it specified to discard 2 Fire Energy, you could still discard any 2 Energy attached to Charizard - because all Energy attached to it are treated as Fire. (Their original types are ignored, as specified, they are Fire "instead of their usual type".) Do note that there is a difference between discarding Energy and discarding Energy cards - you could discard a Double Colorless Energy alone for the cost of Fire Spin, since it's 1 card providing 2 Energy. That wouldn't be the case for Blast Burn, since it requires you to discard Energy cards. Double Colorless Energy is still just 1 card, and you'd need to discard 1 (if heads) or 3 (if tails) more cards after that.

Question 3: As long as the Pokemon attacking is a Pokemon LV.X, Milotic's Marvel Scale will block it, no matter what attack that Pokemon LV.X is using.

If my answers weren't clear enough, feel free to ask me personally any follow-up questions you have.
 
1. Think of each Poke-Body with this kind of wording. Replace Charizard in each one with "this Pokemon." It's talking about that one specific Charizard in each case. Fire Formation would only boost the attacks of Fire Wing and Burning Tail. Fury Blaze would only boost the Blast Burn attack.

2. We don't really answer hypothetical questions (although I guess another Professor could if they wanted to). It says to discard two Energy, so any two would satisfy the attack.

3. Marvel Scale would prevent the Lv. X's attack and the Pokemon's attacks that is from the previous level.

Edit: And ninja'd.

dmaster out.
 
Back
Top