Ruling Celebi prime and rainbow

AmishEskimoNinja

Hating durant since 11/16/11
Member
Celebi prime's power states "You may attack a {G} energy card from you hand to 1 of your pokemon." Does rainbow energy count? Logic makes me think no since Rainbow energy says "while in play rainbow energy counts as every type of energy" but it also It seems similar to the ruling that SW Magmortar's flame body works with rainbow energy.
 
Please include links/scans of the cards in question for future posts on this board.

Celebi Prime
Magmortar SW
Rainbow Energy

No, you cannot use Celebi Prime's POWER to attach Rainbow Energy. See the following compendium ruling regarding Rainbow Energy and Rain Dance:

Compendium said:
Q. Can you Rain Dance Rainbow Energy?
A. No. Because it does not count as any type while in your hand. (June 22, 2000 WotC Chat, Q247)

I can't find any direct ruling to quote on the Flame Body vs. Rainbow Energy, but I would suspect that at the time Flame Body checks for the type of energy attached, Rainbow Energy already counts as {R} type since it is already in play; hence the BODY can still kick in.
 
Magmortar SW's Flame Body will activate, since at the time you are attaching it, it will provide {R} energy.
However, if Rainbow Energy is in your hand, it provides {C} energy (read the HGSS reprint), and so you can't attach it with Celebi in that manner.
 
Back
Top