Ruling Aerodactyl MD Question.

Martainia

Has A Delivery
Member
I have a question....

It involves Aerodactyl MD's Poke-Body:

15-aerodactyl.jpg


Does this effect take place AFTER the effect of the pok-power that's being used?
As an example, (rather, THE example that occurred and we couldn't decide between) I have two Aerodactyl on my bench. The opponent has a Cresselia Lv.X on his bench with 60 damage on it, thus leaving it with 40 HP.
Could Cresselia use it's Full Moon Dance power to move a counter from it to me, thus being left with 10 HP from the two Aerodactyl, or would the Aerodactyl place the counters before the Power is resolved?

Help is greatly appreciated. I think they get to finish their power first, but I dunno. :x

-Mart~
 
it says right on the card "after they use a poke-power" so that means after it's used you get 2-4-6-8 damage counters
 
It says AFTER the Power, meaning after the effect resolves. How else would you interpret AFTER the Power is used? After means after everything is finished, not "it takes damage while the Power is being used."

So, Power gets used, the effect resolves, THEN they take damage. Thus, after the power is used.
 
Kronar said:
It says AFTER the Power, meaning after the effect resolves. How else would you interpret AFTER the Power is used? After means after everything is finished, not "it takes damage while the Power is being used."

So, Power gets used, the effect resolves, THEN they take damage. Thus, after the power is used.

Mmk. Thanks. This clears it up.
I was thinking it might go:
-Cresselia uses Power,
-Aerodactyl activates, puts 2 on.
-Cresselia moves.

But obviously not. :B
Thanks.

-Mart~
 
Martainia said:
Kronar said:
It says AFTER the Power, meaning after the effect resolves. How else would you interpret AFTER the Power is used? After means after everything is finished, not "it takes damage while the Power is being used."

So, Power gets used, the effect resolves, THEN they take damage. Thus, after the power is used.

Mmk. Thanks. This clears it up.
I was thinking it might go:
-Cresselia uses Power,
-Aerodactyl activates, puts 2 on.
-Cresselia moves.

But obviously not. :B
Thanks.

-Mart~

The moving IS the power. Unless you MOVE damage counters, you aren't using the power.
 
What if your aerodactyl only has 10 hp left, and Cresselia uses full moon dance to ko, do you still place 2 damage counters for it?
 
MegPaq said:
What if your aerodactyl only has 10 hp left, and Cresselia uses full moon dance to ko, do you still place 2 damage counters for it?

Yes. You don't remove KOed Pokemon from play until all effects from an action are resolved. That includes other Powers/Bodies that trigger off the original action (Cresselia's use of Full Moon Dance, in this case). Until the KOed Pokemon is removed, all of its Poke-Bodies and effects remain in play.

The order looks like this:
  1. Cresselia uses Full Moon Dance and moves a counter to Aerodactyl, giving it enough damage to be KOed.
  2. Aerodactly's Poke-Body triggers, placing 2 damage counters on Cresselia.
  3. There are no more triggered effects waiting to be resolved, so now you resolve any KOed Pokemon still on the field.
This concept is in the Compendium. Take a look at rulings on Shiftry EX's Dark Eyes, which does the same thing as Aerodactyl's Primal Claw.
 
Back
Top