2010-11 Modified Format: Majestic Dawn and On!

As usual, thanks go to Xous for drawing the Pokemon in the new banner!

Pokemon.com has announced that this upcoming season’s Modified format will consist of cards from Majestic Dawn and on. This means only four sets will kick the bucket this year. The format rotation goes into effect on September 1st. You can read the announcement below.

New changes have been made to the Modified format for Organized Play tournaments.

In the interest of maintaining a healthy tournament environment, Pokémon Organized Play removes older sets from the Modified format at the beginning of each new tournament season. Each rotation challenges existing players to create new strategies while enabling new players to get into Organized Play with a minimal investment.

Last year we announced that our goal was to have a Modified format that starts with 9 regular sets at the beginning of the season and ends the season with about 13 regular sets. Now that we have achieved that goal, we will continue to rotate sets each year to ensure that our Organized Play environment remains healthy and vital moving forward.

The Modified format for the 2010-2011 season will consist of the following sets. In addition, future Pokémon TCG sets will become legal as they are released, per the Pokémon Organized Play Tournament Rules.

  • Majestic Dawn
  • Legends Awakened
  • Stormfront
  • Platinum
  • Rising Rivals
  • Supreme Victors
  • Arceus
  • HeartGold & SoulSilver
  • HS – Unleashed
  • Pokemon Rumble
  • HS Trainer Kit
  • Promos DP22 and higher
  • Promos HGSS01 and higher