Pokemon Video Game Showdown Locations and Info Announced!

Pokemon Video Game Showdowns

Information has finally been released concerning the Pokemon Video Game Showdowns. Tournaments will take place in the United States, Japan, Germany, France, and the United Kingdom. Within the United States, qualifying tournaments will be held in Seattle on May 9th, San Francisco on May 16th, Phoenix on May 23rd, Dallas on May 30th, Philadelphia on June 6th, and Nashville on June 13th.

At each event, only 128 people will be allowed to enter per age division, all of which must use Pokemon Platinum (except in countries where it has not been released). The competitors will be selected randomly from everyone who shows up. This is unfortunate, as people who travel far distances may be rejected.

Each person who shows up will receive a shiny Milotic. It is at Level 50, knows Rain Dance, Recover, Hydro Pump, and Icy Wind, is holding a Flame Orb, and has a Classic Ribbon.

Restrictions on teams are as follows, including banned Pokemon.

  • Each match will use the 2-on-2 format.
  • Each Pokémon on a player’s team must be Level 50 or lower. The Pokémon Link Club Colosseum does not have an auto-level feature, so Pokémon that are Level 51 or higher cannot be adjusted down to Level 50, and are ineligible for this competition.
  • A player’s team may not contain two of the same Pokémon.
  • Each Pokémon on a player’s team may use held items, though no 2 Pokémon on a team may hold the same item. Allowed items include held items from Pokémon™ Platinum Version, and earlier video games, including Berries 1–61. The Soul Dew item may not be used.
  • Players may not enter two Pokémon with the same nickname.
  • Players may not enter a Pokémon nicknamed with the name of another Pokémon character (for example, a Lucario nicknamed “Spiritomb”).
  • Players found to have inappropriate/offensive Trainer names or Pokémon nicknames, as determined by the event staff, will be disqualified from the event.
  • Pokemon that are banned include Mewtwo, Mew, Tyranitar, Lugia, Ho-Oh, Celebi, Kyogre, Groudon, Rayquaza, Jirachi, Deoxys, Rotom, Dialga, Palkia, Giratina, Phione, Manaphy, Darkrai, Shaymin, and Arceus.