Yourself as an Art Enthusiast

XieRH

Aspiring Trainer
I thought it might be interesting to try a discussion about your personal traits and experiences in doing art, or the way doing art influences your life (and the other way round).

I'll get started...

- It may sound a bit ironic saying this here but I typically don't like to discuss about stuff relating to my art or how I draw, not because I hate it, but because I'd probably fuss over it like an obsessive idiot.

- I've been doing digital art since 2009, that was when I got my first tablet, a Genius Mousepen 8x6. It's currently been replaced by a Wacom Bamboo I got last September. The Genius is now with my cousin.

- I am super OCD about not scratching my Wacom's surface:
Photo0532.jpg

That was after using it for a month and realising how easily scratched it was.

- I take a very long time to finish lineart.

- I'm still at the stage where I strongly feel that there is a vast gap between my sketch quality and CG quality

- Every time I see someone ask someone else what tablet/program/brush size they use, I feel like that person is secretly wishing that if he uses the same thing, he can draw just as well. I was like that too, with lineart, following someone else's technique (50-60% opacity, multiply blend)

- I'm very reclusive when it comes to drawing. Nobody in my real life social circles knows that I draw, or that I have a DA account, etc. I don't really know why but I unusually hate it when people watch me work (on art). Thankfully my family doesn't pay attention to when I'm drawing.

- I got SAI because tons of people were gushing about how good it was. In the end I've only done 1 full CG in SAI in my entire life so far. It's funny because the reason I'm hesitant to use SAI is because I'm uncomfortable with working on 2 softwares together (the other being photoshop) because there's stuff in PS that I use which SAI doesnt have, like polygonal lasso.

- I hate a lot of my old drawings. Like this.