1. Do not post in a ruling thread unless you’re a certified P!P Professor and have a PokeBeach Rulings Staff badge. Even if you know the answer or are providing card scans for another member. If you post without the badge, your post will be removed and you may receive a warning. If you would like to be approved to answer ruling questions on PokeBeach, you must prove you're a Professor by applying for a Rulings Staff badge here.

    Do not ask a question in a thread that somebody else made, even if it's a follow up question to an answer a Professor gave. For any and all questions, please make a new thread with your question.

    When posting a “Ruling” thread, you must include scans of all cards you are asking about. You can search for cards in the navbar above.

"The Defending Pokémon"

Discussion in 'Ask a Professor: Card Rulings' started by Sonic_Freak, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. Sonic_Freak Proud Member of the RightWing Conspiracy
    Sonic_Freak

    Member

    Alright, so whenever an attack says "the defending pokémon" does the effect follow a retreating pokémon? For instance, Absol G's Doom News Which pokémon gets knocked out if they switch? And if they switch on a smokescreen, do they still have to flip? And Silcoon's entangling sting? I'm almost positive it has to be a widespread rule, like you can't say you still have to flip for smokescreen but Doom News KOs the retreated Pokémon. What's the ruling on this?
     


  2. Futa Aspiring Trainer
    Futa

    Member

    Whenever the text were to saying "The Defending Pokemon", it is referring to the current Defending Pokemon. So, in Absol G's Doom News, the effect would only happen to the targetted Pokemon. If that Pokemon retreats, then the effect would where off, and the new Defending Pokemon would not be effected at all.

    Basically, all effects go away when a Pokemon retreats, and "The Defending Pokemon" part only refers to the Defending Pokemon that was struck by the effect.
     
  3. ragingphantom Currently in a Paradox
    ragingphantom

    Member

    No, generally, effects go away when a pokemon is benched. There might be a few exceptions, but you'll have to look in the compendium for the exceptions (if there are any, which there may not be).

    So Doom News-effect doesn't follow.
    Smokescreen and like effects-doesn't follow to bench
    Etc.

    EDIT: Ninja'd. First time in a while...
     
  4. DNA Goodbye, everyone. I'll miss you all.
    DNA

    Advanced Member Member

    Any attacks, Powers, Bodies, or other card effects that refer to 'the Defending Pokemon' refer to the current Defending Pokemon (i.e. the one at the time the card is used). Effects of attacks that reside on that Defending Pokemon (such as Doom News) are removed once it is benched, evolves, devolves, or Levels Up. (I don't know about leveling down. Presumably it does there as well.)
     
  5. Sonic_Freak Proud Member of the RightWing Conspiracy
    Sonic_Freak

    Member

    So if someone uses smokescreen and then I switch out, the new defending pokémon can attack regularly? Figures AFTER the battle I find out. So Doom News and Doom Desire completely stop if "the defending pokémon" changes in any way? Again, NOW you tell me. I've had people doing it all ways that would be bad for me, the new defending gets knocked out, it KOs the benched Pokémon but no one's yet admitted that I escaped.
     
  6. ShineVini Shiny Legends Collector
    ShineVini

    Member

     
  7. Sonic_Freak Proud Member of the RightWing Conspiracy
    Sonic_Freak

    Member

    Yes, thank-you. ^_^
     

Viewing Now: 0 Members + 0 Guests

There are no registered members viewing this forum. Why not register here and start a discussion?


Share This Page