Getting Into PTCG at This Time?

FierySplash

Aspiring Trainer
Hey PokeBeachers, I was thinking of getting into PTCG, but am not sure if I should wait XY out as it will get discontinued from expanded because a new series will release or should I go for it?!

Moved from the TCG News and Discussion to the TCG Help & Advice as the OP is looking for advice to get into the game. ~bbninjas

I am a player who just returned to the game after a long absence, so I can relate to where you are coming from as far as being concerned about rotation and stocking up on cards that you feel you'll never get use out of. I got out of the game around 10 years ago, for a variety of reasons at the time, but always missed it. I just started playing again at the end of May, so I faced 2 issues.

1) 99% of the cards I still had were nowhere close to being legal. Several trainer cards are still around like Rare Candy and Super Scoop Up (for another month anyway) but otherwise who needs more Potion and Pokeball cards anyway.

2) Yes I said May, so missed every event worth talking about for the 2016 season, but had no idea what rotation would really be and even if I did I wouldn't have wanted to wait until September to have a shot at being competetive.

So I bought in to the XY sets. Now I had a pretty good idea of what was going to stay in standard format so I avoided XY, Flashfire, Furious Fists altogether in pack form, just a few singles like Startling Megaphone. The 2 BREAK sets, and Fates Collide I figured are likely to be safe come the 2018 rotation, so I went heaviest on those. If I'm wrong then I'm wrong, but I see BREAKthrough and BREAKpoint either both staying in, or both being rotated next time around. Only thing I somewhat regret investing in was about a box and a half of Phantom Forces. Only reason I did was finding discounted packs, and knowing even if they were weighed you can't weigh out a VS Seeker or Battle Compressor.