RMT Get Shell Shocked

Sleepy

Aspiring Trainer
fCKg9RS.jpg

Hello everyone! After testing some Megas such as Metagross and Kangaskhan, I've decided to try and build a team around a lesser used Mega. Thus, my first VGC competitive team centered around Mega Blastoise was formed! I'm really happy with what I've been able to come up with here and I've had quite of bit of success with it on Showdown! so far, but I was wondering if anyone had any constructive criticism they could offer. Again, I'm completely new to VGC, so any help is greatly appreciated!​

blastoise-mega.gif

Blastoise (M) @ Blastoisinite
Ability: Torrent
EVs: 140 HP / 252 SpA / 116 Spe
Modest Nature
- Water Spout
- Protect
- Aura Sphere
- Ice Beam

The main man of the team, the Shell Shocker himself! What I believe to be a very underrated Mega, Blastoise cleanly deals with a lot that is currently out there, from Salamance with Ice Beam to Kangaskhan with Aura Sphere. Falling into the middle of the speed tiers, he does struggle if Talonflame doesn't set up Tailwind right away, but even then, he is tanky enough to still allow for a strong Water Spout. I rarely ever lead with him, favoring Talonflame + Someone else.

talonflame.gif

Talonflame (M) @ Life Orb
Ability: Gale Wings
EVs: 4 HP / 252 Atk / 252 Spe
Adamant Nature
- Tailwind
- Brave Bird
- Overheat
- Protect

Another part of the core for the team, Talonflame is essential for the team to get rolling, and as stated above, is he is generally what I lead with. he is often taken out on Turn 1, but thanks to its ability it always gets Tailwind up which helps me sweep with the rest of the team. Fire are great attacks to have right now thanks to several Metal types such as Bisharp and Metagross running rampant, and Flying is always useful to have. I have been debating sacrificing his extra damage from Life Orb to more survivability with Focus Slash.

sylveon.gif

Sylveon (F) @ Choice Specs
Ability: Pixilate
EVs: 92 HP / 252 SpA / 164 Spe
Modest Nature